All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. The Department of Afro American Research, Arts and Culture makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis.

Monday, June 9, 2008

Garfeel Ruff - The Hitter (1979)

1. The Hitter
2. Distant
3. Don't Count On Me
4. Golden Time Of Day
5. Bring On The Love
6. Jump Street
7. Street Hustlin'
8. You're In Good Hands
9. I Wish You Well
10. Fortune
Ron 'Superfly' O'Neal starred in this late obscure, depressing blaxploitation film from 1979 about a failed bare knuckle fighter and hustler. The music has a very well-produced, clean sound and features tracks from Raul Da Souza alongside the original film music from Garfeel Ruff. The originals are good late 70's funk, generally slow tempo with deep bass and a strong horn section. This album can be found fairly easily, invariably still sealed and quite cheap, so obtain a copy if you can.

Provided by Tony
Link to movie review
Christopher Leitch - The Hitter (1979)


Funkback said...

Ooowhee!! great up man!!! This has got the ultrafunky Mizelle Produced Distant by A Taste Of Honey on it, sampled by Ice Cube on Gangstas Fairytale 2 from his Album The Predator.

Funkback said...

Tony's just upgraded this so I couldn't resist giving You a peek at his excellent coverscans! Thereused to be some issues w. the last two tracks, but no more. Head on over to
and give him some props for being such a good sport!

Visit the Museum of Black Cult Cinema for additional information and digital media.