All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Various Artist - Black Belt Jones II [A.K.A. Tattoo Connection] (1978)

A1. Time Keeper
A2. witchdoctor
A3. Only 16's
A4. Tsuioku No Skat
A5. all the king's horses
B1. Invocation to the gods
B2. Love Chaiser
B3. Revelation
B4. Battle
B5. Watching and waiting

World Premier Of The Soundtrack to The Jim Kelly Flick "The Tattoo Connection also known as "Black Belt Jones 2" /
Music Sourced By The Fraykers Revenge Team" Kicking of With a Dynamite Kung Fu track called "Time Keeper" used throughout the Flick

Movie Review
Black Belt Jones II: The Tattoo Connection (1978)

Friday, December 25, 2009

The Black Connection … Run, Nigger, Run + Soundtrack Album by The Checkmates LTD. (1974)


  • Bobby Stevens   
  • Sweet Louie    
  • Sonny Charles

This album album is actually the soundtrack to the group’s hit movie “The Black Connection AKa’s Run Nigger Run”. Script of the film, co-written by Bobby Stevens and music written & Produced by Sonny Charles for Even Stevens Production. Promotion poster for the promotion of this sountrack album & movie features the nude Azzi Johara ( the first Black Playboy centerfold) & nude Checkmates Ltd. 9 from ten songs on this lp sounds in the movie – Run Nigger Run, Sexy Ways, Street of Dreams, Might Get Betta, Coming Down, Pretty Balloons.

Checkmates Rustic Adult Promo Poster
Checkmates Rustic Adult Promo Poster
Review By: Motown67
The Checkmates Ltd. were a long-time Soul act. By the time Chessboard Corporation F/S/O came out, they’d updated their sound to release their best album. Louie The Piper is a perfect example with a chugging beat and soulful singing by Bobby Stevens. There’s also the slow and groovy (Ain’t A) Goddamned Thang Going On. Sexy Ways is in a similar mood with a winding horn line. I Must Be Dreaming sounds like what you might expect from the title, but the main melody played on either a flute or synthesizer would make a perfect loop. Street Of Dreams is a soulful Rock tune with fuzz guitar and horns.

Artist: The Checkmates LTD.
Album: Chessboard Corporation F/S/O
Label : Rustic Records #Rustic RR-2004
Released : 1974
Funk, Soul, Blaxploitation Soundtrack

Tracklist :
01 Louie the Piper
02 (Ain’t a) Goddamned Thing Going On
03 I Must Be Dreaming
04 Street of Dreams
05 Pretty Balloons
06 Sexy Ways
07 Might Get Betta
08 Coming Down
09 Run Nigger Run
10 Got To See U Soon
A huge thanx to MusicDawn for this! As is fills the request for our missing Run Nigger Run Single. Merry Christmas All!

Sunday, December 6, 2009

A Soldier's Story (1984)


A black Army investigator (Howard E. Rollins Jr.) travels to a remote military base in the heart of the Louisiana backwoods to look into the mysterious murder of a black sergeant toward the tail end of World War II. Once he arrives, the investigator discovers an Army regiment and an entire community that, despite the beginnings of integration, is still torn apart by race and segregation. He soon learns that on this base, trust is sparse and secrets are a currency all their own.

Soul Of The Game (1996)


  • Delroy Lindo
  • Mykelti Williamson
  • Edward Herrmann
  • Blair Underwood
  • R. Lee Ermey
  • Salli Richardson-Whitfield
  • Gina Ravera
  • Obba Babatund√©
  • Cylk Cozart
  • J.D. Hall
  • Jerry Hardin
Very good Baseball movie that wasnt advertised much at all. If Any. I just happened to come across it on HBO and was caught. Everyone knows Jackie Robinson broke the color barrier in baseball, but not many know the events that led up to it. This movie actually brought a tear to my eye for Josh Gibson and Sachel Paige, I really felt sorry for those two. Also it was a very nice touch how Willie Mays was wrote into the movie as a whole, if you see it you will understand. Again this is a very good baseball history movie. If you are a fan of the National Pastime, then watch this film.

Soul To Soul Concert [DVDrip] + Soundtrack and Photo Gallery ‘1971

Amazon review
Explosive performances by Ike & Tina Turner, Wilson Pickett, Santana, the Staple Singers, and others power Soul to Soul, the filmed documentary of a 1971 concert by American artists in Accra, Ghana. There’s some great music here, with versions of “Land of 1000 Dances” (Pickett), “When Will We Be Paid” (the Staples), and “The Price You Gotta Pay to Be Free” (jazzmen Les McCann and Eddie Harris, who also feature the amazing African musician Amoah Azangeo) that are as good or better than anything found on other concert films from the period, including Wattstax and Woodstock. But witnessing this predominantly black group of Americans as they respond to being in Africa for the first time is fascinating and moving as well (check out the uncontained emotion of Ike Turner), to say nothing of the sometimes bemused, often ecstatic response of the African audience. The remastered, restored film, which includes plenty of non-concert documentary footage (including a trip to a seaside “castle” from which slaves were shipped across the Atlantic) looks good, and what’s on the film looks first rate. –Sam Graham

Artist : Various Artists
Album : Soul to Soul Soundtrack
Recording Date: march 6, 1971 / track 15 – 2004
Release Date: Audio CD 2004
Label: Atlantic / Rhino
Genre: Soul, Funk, Ethnic
01 – The Kumasi Drummers
02 – Ike & Tina Turner – Soul To Soul
03 – Voices Of East Harlem – Run, Shaker Life
04 – Ishmael Adams & The Damas Choir
05 – Les McCann & Eddie Harris with Amoah Azangeo – Hey Jorler
06 – The Staple Singers – Are You Sure
07 – The Staple Singers – He’s Alright
08 – Kwa Mensah
09 – Ike & Tina Turner – Ooh Poo Pah Doo
10 – Ike & Tina Turner – I Smell Trouble
11 – Wilson Pickett – In The Midnight Hour
12 – Wilson Pickett – Funky Broadway
13 – Wilson Pickett – Land Of 1000 Dances
14 – Voices Of East Harlem – Choose Your Seat And Set Down-Walk All Over God’s Heaven
15 – Earl Thomas – Soul To Soul (2004)


Music from the original Soundtrack "Soul To Soul" by Denis Sanders. a Nigram-Aura Production in cooperation with the Ghana Arts Council.
Recorded at Black Star Square in Accra, on Ghana's 14th Independence Day; March 6, 1971 at the "Soul To Soul" Festival.
Roberta Flack's 'Freedom Song' was recorded in mono on a portable recording machine in the dungeons of the old slave fortress in Cape Coast, Ghana.

Thanks Musicdawn

Visit the Museum of Black Cult Cinema for additional information and digital media.